History of college


   

Beneath the cloud-capped hills, amidst luxuriant woodlands and surrounded by the shimmering waters of the Umiam Lake, lays an idyllic conclave of houses and buildings that make up one of the unique educational institutions in the North Eastern region - the Union Christian College, popularly known by its acronym, UCC.

Jutting out into the Umiam Lake like a mini-peninsula, the sprawling campus of the UCC sported tree-lined avenues, hedges of forget-me-nots, patches of greenery and quiet roofs beneath huge stately trees whose leaves flutter incessantly in the caresses of the gentle breeze. It was as quiet and tranquil as one wishes it to be – an ideal setting for young minds to gather precious gems of knowledge.

 
   

However, the place is once a wild land, stuck in timelessness, until a seed for its destiny was sown by the high ideals of its founding fathers. It was on 22nd September, 1936 that a group of representatives from various missions in Assam met in Shillong to consider the organization of a council of churches in the erstwhile undivided Assam. One year later on the 23rd September 1937, that a committee to set up a college was formed. It included Rev. T. E. Pugh, J.M. Forbes, Rev. J. J. M. Nichols Roy and Rai Bahadur D. Ropmay, with Dr. Victor Hugo Sword as its Chairman and Treasurer. In 1941, the Assam Christian Council communicated with the other member-affiliated churches to generate funds for the noble project, and was assured of receiving four annas (25 paise) from each member, as well as other special gifts.

 
   

Thus strengthened, Dr. Sword was entrusted with the task of procuring a suitable site for the proposed college on 28th August 1948. His pleas to the Baptist Church to provide the Guwahati campus which had 22 acres of land was turned down because of the financial burden it would incur. It was at this juncture that providence took a hand when the then Syiem of Mylliem, Sati Raja offered to donate 900 acres of land on lease. It really was remarkable that with a humble sum of just Rs. 8475/-, one of the most renowned Colleges in the region was established. It was after a long awaited beginning of the College can see the light of day on Friday, the 14th August, 1952, the day which the College celebrated as its foundation day every year.

 
   

It was notable that in retrospect, this College which was started with just one student could have grown to what it is today. The first student, Gasperley Marwein hailing from West Khasi Hills was joined by Onershing Q. Marak from Garo Hills, YasathungLotha from Nagaland, Miss Alice Laurence from Jorhat, Tekachangt Ao Changki from Nagaland, Sanmonger Ao Changki from Nagaland, Plausing. K. Marak from Garo Hills, A.S. Tuisem from Ukhrul, Manipur, Samuel Hembrom from Goalpara, Assam, Wilfred Goldsmith from Jorhat, Assam and Elphinstone R.Marak from Garo Hills.

 
   

63 years hence, the College is steadily progressing and growing from day to day. From a little acorn, it is now a towering oak, making steadfast progress on all fronts living up to its motto – ‘Come to the living water’ – quenching the thirst of all those who had come to seek wisdom and knowledge within its hallowed grounds. The College has had a fascinating run. It is still on the path laid down by its founding fathers – keeping their vision and striving ever onward.

And so once again, as the sun sets over the horizon, a new dawn will arise where in its tryst with destiny, UCC can march ahead the passage of time secure in the knowledge that it will have given the best to the best that had been given it.

 
 

                                                                                                       “Little is much when God is in it”